Gem Dragons in Fizban’s Dragon Treasure Explained


Fizban’s Dragon Treasure has brought the gem dragons back to Dungeons & Dragons, which are powerful creatures that reside in the inner planes.

Fizban’s Dragon Treasure is a new reference book for Dungeons & Dragons which brings back ancient content, as the Gem Dragons have officially returned to D&D like powerful new monsters. The Monster Manual includes statistics for the ten “real dragons”, which are the five chromatic dragons (black, blue, green, red and white) and the five metallic dragons (brass, bronze, copper, silver and gold), but there is a third designation of true dragon that has just returned to the game.

Chromatic dragons generally belong to misalignment and worship the five-headed goddess Tiamat, while metallic dragons generally belong to correct alignment and worship the platinum dragon, Bahamut. There are also “inferior” dragons that share traits with real dragons, but they are generally not as strong as chromatic or metallic dragons. These little dragons include creatures like wyverns and drakes, which are more likely to be encountered by the average group of adventurers.

Related: Dungeons & Dragons 5.5 News & Updates: Everything We Know So Far

The Monster Manual II for the third edition of D&D introduced the gem dragons, which were the third category of true dragons that generally belonged to the neutral alignment. After many years away from the game, Gem Dragons are back in Fizban’s Dragon Treasure, giving DMs the ability to use dragons with psionic feats in their campaigns. Gem dragons have a less defined role in the multiverse of D&D, some of them simply being interested in the pursuit of knowledge. This softer limit means it’s easier for DMs to use them as they see fit in their campaign, as long as a suitable role can be found for a Telepathic Dragon.

D&D Gem Dragons Return with Fizban’s Dragon Treasure

Fizban Gem Dragon Treasure Dungeons and Dragonborn Dragons

There are five types of gem dragons: Amethyst, Crystal, Emerald, Sapphire, and Topaz. Unlike the chromatic and metallic dragons of the multiverse, the gem dragons generally reside on the inner planes, which contain the four elemental planes. Gem dragons are good at using psionics, which gives them access to a small number of spells in 5th grade. The Breathing Weapons of Gem Dragons are unusual compared to the Elemental Weapons used by other True Dragons. Amethyst Dragon’s Breath Weapon is a gravity ray that deals force damage, Crystal Dragon’s Breath weapon is a beam of light that deals radiant damage, Emerald Dragon’s Breath weapon is a Mental energy wave that deals psionic damage, the Sapphire Dragon’s Breath weapon is a sonic spear that deals thunder damage, and the Topaz Dragon’s Breath is a negative energy haze that deals necrotic damage.

The Gem Dragons collectively worship a god called Sardior, who is the Ruby Dragon. Sardior’s divine form has been shattered into pieces, and five incredibly powerful great wyrms attempt to use their power to rebuild him. Each of the five great gem wyrms in Fizban’s treasure has the strength of a titan, each a CR 26 creature with a mythical trait. An epic level Dungeons & Dragons The campaign could be based on helping these majestic beings or preventing them from doing anything that could shatter the multiverse itself.

Next: D&D: Fizban’s Treasury Of Dragons: New Subclasses Explained

Scream 2022 Header

Scream 2022 poster recreates Ghostface in hundreds of tiny masks

About the Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.